top of page
Search
  • sjizzini

Alternative Perspectives: Developing Empathy Thinking Skills

Updated: Apr 4, 2020

As educators, we are designers of learning experiences and environments to create opportunities that empower students. All too often, we are constrained by limited time and strict curriculum pacing guides which we may perceive as roadblocks to designing innovative learning paths for students. However, developing a design mindset can allow us to create solutions to alleviate barriers in teaching and learning.

gif

In any profession involving design thinking, success is derived from being able to understand and relate to the user. Therefore, the first mode of human-centered design revolves around good empathy skills. By trying to step into the life of our students, we can unlock valuable insights.


In order to empathize with our students' needs, we must practice our empathy thinking skills. 'A Twice or Thrice Told Tale...' is an activity where you imagine the same events of a story through different characters involved. I interviewed a fellow educator and colleague and shared her story from two different perspectives below.


Educator's Perspective:

Max & Sugar

During my second year of teaching, my second graders learned how to write a strong persuasive text. At the time, I told my class that if they come up with an awesome topic and write a strong persuasive letter, they might just get what they argue for. Little did I know, at the time, that this would backfire on me. My second graders were ecstatic! They thought about a topic and discussed what they can write about throughout the whole day. The next day, the class came together during the English period and stated their topic: Class Pet. I thought to myself this would be a disaster if it was approved. So, I suggested they address the letter to the school principal instead of myself. I was hoping that she would disagree and I wouldn't be the person that went against my word.


The class collaboratively worked to write a killer letter and we sent it on its way to the principal. The next day the school principal enthusiastically replied, showing her approval of their letter. She even mentioned that they can get as many pets as they like! The next week they bought two aquatic turtles and called them Max and Sugar. During the first day with our new class pets, the students needed to complete their end of unit projects. The students were so active, there was a lot of commotion going on around the classroom. While working with one group, I hear a loud crash. I look up to see what caused this loud noise. I found one of my students had crashed into a table. The exact table where the home of the class pets rests. I stand up to find, on the floor, the cracked cage, water everywhere, and Max and Sugar struggling to flip over. At that moment I knew I was in for a ride. The classroom smelled like Max and Sugar's shrimp food the whole year.


Student's Perspective:

Class Pet

Our teacher was teaching us what it means to persuade a specific audience. To motivate us, she gave us the chance to write a persuasive letter of our own to whomever we wanted to. I hate writing tasks, so I did not give the task much concern. My classmate, however, tapped me on my elbow and I saw the excitement on his face. He told me that if we wrote a good enough letter to the principal, she would give us what we wanted. I started to think about what I could ask for that would make me happy. My parents were not allowing me to get a pet, so I thought this would be a great chance. I was hoping that the class would agree with my cool topic. Many of my friends told me that no way would the principal agree but that we might as well try.

The next day the principal answered yes! We were so excited that she agreed to our idea! After the weekend a classmate brought two water turtles to class and we all brainstormed on what to call them. I and the boys chose Max and the girls chose Sugar. Everyone was happy.

The only time there was ever a problem was when the class pet cage fell to the floor. I saw Max and Sugar on their backs struggling to turn around. I remember shouting out to everyone, “don’t move!” while I hurried to pick them up. Other than that, they were great to have in our classroom.


It is difficult to imagine a story through the mind of another. However, while doing so, you start to play an active role in trying to make connections and internalize another person's experience. For example, while writing my colleague's story from the student's perspective, I started thinking about their language skills, interests and point of view. This made me think about my professional context and how empathy plays an important role in trying to improve learning in the classroom and meet my students' needs.


Give it a try!

17 views0 comments
bottom of page