top of page
Search
  • sjizzini

Idea Generator: Brainstorming & Incubating

Updated: Apr 4, 2020

Ideation is the third mode of the design process and is the most closely connected with creativity. During this stage, it is not about coming up with the right idea but rather the most ideas. In this case, it is quantity over quality and the ideas can be focused on the problem, but also can be unrelated, improbable, and unusual.

The ideate mode depends on experiencing both brainstorming and incubating sessions. Brainstorming allows you to actively and consciously come up with ideas. While incubation allows those ideas to pop into your head all while you are taking a break.


In order to explore the process of incubation further, you can follow these 3 easy stages.


1. Pre-Incubation:

The incubation stage will most likely be more effective if the problem is still fresh in your mind. If you prime your mind by working on your problem, you are better preparing it to reflect and generate new ideas in the stages that follow.


Take a look at the visual a created for my idea notes while thinking about my problem of practice.


2. Incubation:

When you reach a roadblock, it is time for a break! During this stage, you can take a step back and set your problem aside for a bit to do another activity. The best incubation activities are the ones that require little cognitive processing and allows you to get your mind off the problem. This will allow you to make progress again. Here are some examples:

  • exercise

  • take a nap

  • watch your favorite show

  • take a shower

  • eat a favorite meal with good company

For my problem of practice, I decided to watch a cooking show which allowed me to also daydream about food for 45 minutes.


3. Post Incubation:

My addendum to my original ideas notes is below and includes new ideas, patterns, questions, and connections in pink.


While applying the work-incubate-revisit process it made me feel like my mind got a jump start. After thinking about my problem and all its variables, I felt like my mind was working in circles all while reaching the same roadblocks. I now know the importance of taking a break rather than continuing to find a solution. By doing so, I was able to expose my mind to new information, find alternative perspectives to my problem, and generate more creative insights.


I started to link the above thinking process with how I address assignments or problems in my professional context. I always feel more comfortable when there is enough time to revisit my work, especially while in the process of designing something new. This lab makes me believe in taking frequent breaks (after priming my mind of course) and not feel bad afterward. More importantly, this process would be effective to implement in my workshops, training, and strategy meetings in the workplace. They all include collaborative brainstorming sessions to find solutions for student learning in the classroom. My takeaway is that I will definitely adjust my mindset and routines to ask meaningful questions, plan to take breaks, and allow your mind to wander.

19 views0 comments
bottom of page