top of page
Search
  • sjizzini

Problem of Practice 5/5: Testing Report

Updated: Apr 10, 2020

Throughout the past couple of weeks, I have been working on a solution for my chosen Problem of Practice (PoP). While doing so, I learned how to develop a designer mindset and utilize cognitive tools to creatively tackle the problem/challenges.

The 5 modes shown on the left, highlight the stages of the Stanford d.school's Design Thinking model. This is the last post of 5 and its focus is on the testing. Testing might be the last step of the process, however, it's not the last step in design work. This is because design thinking is an iterative process and involves multiple cycles and iterations in developing a product. Take a look at my testing report below.


Context:

My PoP is that teachers are using instructional materials that impose a language barrier for English Language Learners (ELLs), which encourages them to memorize rather than understand scientific concepts. I created my prototype under the belief that an effective solution to my PoP depended on creating differentiated learning materials catered to the language levels of the class and that still met the standards of the curriculum. In parallel, I also wanted to make sure that students were motivated to deepen their cognitive thinking and build connections with the content they are required to learn. Therefore, my prototype is an experiential lesson that is part of a larger gamification scheme that would span over an entire science course. I chose to create a prototype that is mapped to unit 5, lesson 1 titled 'Describing Motion' of the grade 6 science curriculum. My hope is that students are engaged to look beyond their language barriers and increase their curiosity to understand scientific concepts by exploring authentic real-life problems.


Users: Grade 6 students & teachers


Method:

My initial plan was to test my prototype in a grade 6 science class. Given the circumstances, I changed my testing methods to assembling a focus group of three students using Google Hangouts. I had chosen three students that had different English skill sets and who were also willing to participate in testing. I wanted a heterogeneous group to be able to compare results and gather feedback on student opinion and performance.


Given that the solution to my PoP depends on teacher instruction, I wanted to gather teacher feedback on the prototype created. I contacted a fellow middle school science teacher to participate in an interview. My goal was to see how my designs would be perceived by another educator and gather constructive feedback that will allow me to improve the product.


Protocol:

Student focus groups

1. Greetings & Overview

  • Welcome students to our Google Hangout.

  • Reinform them about the project as they should have previously signed consent forms.

  • Inform them that they will be completing a mission and that we will meet at a future scheduled time to discuss.


2. Directions

Students will be provided with the following directions: Badges can only be collected once you complete a mission which shows that you have understood the lesson. Each lesson will have a specific badge according to the science concepts you are learning. The Badgedex shows the full collection. Along the way, you will also be able to collect stars that can be used for special gifts. Here is your first mission.


3. Discussion

  • Show & tell their creations

  • Facilitate discussion using the following questions:

 

Interview

1. Do you think this prototype would support learning in the classroom? If yes, how?

2. Do you think experiential lessons would alleviate language barriers?

3. Do you think students would be engaged with the mission/badge system?

4. Do you have any suggestions that will improve the design?

5. Do you have any further comments you would like to share?


Reflection:

Students responded positively to the gamification aspect of my prototype. They asked several questions on how they can collect all the badges to complete their Badgedex. The valuable insights were that students no longer perceived science as big words that they needed to memorize. They wanted to complete the missions and they grasped that they needed to understand the science in order to reach their goal. I also realized that little words might be helpful for students to read the task, but they still needed proper guidance and instructions. During the interview, the teacher suggested adding a digital component to design, so that it is accessible to students at all times. They would also be able to track their work.


While gathering feedback, I learned that it is essential to take the time to test a prototype. Very much like how teachers create formative assessments to improve student understanding and their instructional methods, designers test to improve their product. The data from testing is very valuable to product development and allows you to see if you are on the right track. Given the current crises, students have continued their studies from home. I was not able to test my prototype with a sample size I was hoping for. In the future, I plan to undergo another cycle of the design thinking process in order to solve some of the concerns brought up in testing. I will also look into technology tools that will accommodate my product so that it is suitable for learning both in the classroom and from home.


Image Credits:

Shutterstock by pgvector

14 views0 comments
bottom of page